Young Academies Science Advice Structure (YASAS) (External organisation)

Activity: MembershipAcademic


Executive Board Member YASAS.

On 2 December 2020, standing delegates of European young academies joined for the first General Assembly of YASAS: the Young Academies Science Advice Structure. After years of informal, yet constructive collaboration and knowledge exchange on topics of concern to early-career researchers, the initiative was taken to create a formal platform for cooperation of European Young Academies.

“YASAS is a collaboration of fourteen Young Academies (Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Hungary, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Young Academy of Europe, Global Young Academy) but invites other European Young Academies to join its ranks. It seeks to deepen the exchange between European Young Academies in order to strengthen the voice of Young Researchers in European science policy and science advice”, says Dr Jacek Kolanowski (Young Academy Poland), newly elected YASAS President. The YASAS General Assembly also elected four YASAS Executive Board members: Dr Maral Dadvar (Global Young Academy), Dr Lukas Haffert (German Young Academy), Dr Moniek Tromp (Young Academy of Europe), and Dr Marie-José van Tol (Dutch Young Academy).

YASAS aims to contribute to the European Commission’s Scientific Advice Mechanism by joining the Science Advice for Policy by European Academies (SAPEA) project. Currently, SAPEA brings together five European science academy networks. YASAS aims to strengthen SAPEA and the delivery of science advice in Europe by joining as a sixth member network and by directly representing early-career academics.

All participating Young Academies are excited about this new collaboration, as it is a big step forward for young scientists and scholars to have a direct voice in European science policy and science advice.
Held atYoung Academies Science Advice Structure (YASAS)
Degree of RecognitionInternational


  • science advice
  • european
  • young academies
  • executive board member